Golden Boot Winner Odds World Cup 2022

FIFA World Cup is the most revered international football tournament in the world. It features several teams from different continents coming together to battle it out for the World Cup. This year, the World Cup 2022 will commence on the 21st of November 2022 to the 18th of December 2022. Qatar is the host nation. It will become the second Asian country to host the tournament after Korea/Japan in 2002.

This year's World Cup will be the 22nd edition of the competition and the last to feature 32 teams. If you are a punter that enjoys betting on football and the World Cup, then this edition is one you should look up to. One of the major betting markets to consider is the World Cup top scorer odds. It will be available in many sportsbooks once the competition starts.

This comprehensive guide will talk about what you need to know about World Cup golden boot odds 2022 and the favorites that may take the award home. Besides, we will highlight the past golden boot winners by tournament and country. So for all that and more, keep reading.

World Cup 2022 Golden Boot Winner Odds

If there is any football tournament on the planet that features all-star players, it has to be the FIFA World Cup. Over the years, we've seen several spectacular players score net goals in the competition. And with the new breed of exceptional strikers that will feature in the Qatar World Cup later this year, it won't be a surprise to see some records broken.

Presently, the draw for the group stages has not taken place. This is partly because not 32 teams have qualified yet. So far, only 13 teams have qualified, namely, the host nation Qatar, Germany, Brazil, Denmark, Belgium, France, Croatia, England, Spain, Netherlands, Serbia, Argentina, and Switzerland.

There are still three more sports for European teams, five for Africa, three or four teams from North America, and probably one team from the Australian continent. As you can see, it is hard to tell which players will not make the tournament, especially with Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal still battling for qualification.

Players to Watch Out For

Nevertheless, the teams that have already qualified have some spectacular players capable of winning the golden boot. Harry Kane, for instance, had a terrific 2018 World Cup winning the golden boot. He also netted 4 goals in Euro 2020, just one shy of Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the golden boot of the tournament. While the Tottenham forward is yet to have that impressive goal-scoring mode in the Premier League 2021/2022, he is undoubtedly a player to watch out for if you are planning to bet on World Cup golden boot odds.

Since Argentina has already qualified for the competition, it will be massive wrongdoing, not to mention the superstar and current World Best player, Lionel Messi. He has scored several goals across all competitions. While his team was unable to move past the Round of 16 in the previous World Cup, he will surely be back this time to try to lead them to victory. Messi won the Copa America golden boot in the Copa America 20/21. He scored 4 goals in the competition and can net more in the World Cup.

Cristiano Ronaldo may not yet be confirmed to be in the World Cup 2022, but he is another noteworthy player to point out for the World cup top scorer odds. The Manchester United striker was the golden boot winner at Euro 2020 and performed exceptionally well in the 2018 World Cup. Should Portugal qualify, he will be among the players to watch out for.

Other impressive players that will likely compete for the golden boot are Lukaku (Belgium), Sterling (England), and Lewandowski (Poland, yet to qualify)

Past Golden Boot Winners by Tournament and by Country

Over the years, several players have won the World cup golden boot. Some of these players have even gone ahead to win the World Best player of their time. Below, we provide a list of past golden boot winners.

  • 2018 - Harry Kane (England) - 6 goals

  • 2014 - James Rodiguez (Columbia) - 6 goals

  • 2010 - Thomas Muller (Germany) - 5 goals

  • 2006 - Miroslav Klose (Germany) - 5 goals

  • 2002- Ronaldo (Brazil) - 8 goals

  • 1998 - Davor Suker (Croatia) - 6 goals

  • 1994 - Oleg Salenko (Ukraine), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) - 6 goals

  • 1990 - Salvator Schillaci (Italy) - 6 goals

Read all about World Cup 2022 Odds