World Cup Group Odds

Qatar will host the FIFA World Cup 2022. This is the first time a Middle Eastern country is hosting it. Because of the stifling heat in Qatar, the tournament will be played in November, when the temperature is a little more bearable. The first group game will kick off on the 21st of November.

The tournament consists of eight groups, each consisting of four countries. The top two countries in each group will progress to the Round of 16. This will start on the 3rd of December. All the group winners will play against the runner-up of another group. The quarter-finals start on the 9th of December, the semi-finals on the 13th and 14th, and the final on the 18th.

Eight Beautiful Stadia

Although Qatar originally intended to have twelve stadia available for the World Cup, only eight stadia will host the matches. All eight venues promise to be state-of-the-art sustainable venues. Evidently, the capacity of the smallest stadium is 40,000 spectators. The Lusail Iconic Stadium can host 80,000 spectators for the finals.

The World Cup History and Tradition

Uruguay hosted the first World Cup in 1930. They thrilled the home crowd by beating Argentina 4-2 in the final. Brazil has won it five times since then, with the legendary Pele being part of the team on three of those occasions. France has won the cup two times in more modern times, the first time in 1998 and again exactly twenty years later. We all remember the legendary Zidane getting sent off in the final for an altercation with his Italian marker. Undoubtedly, Klose from Germany, Brazilian Ronaldo, Diego Maradona are famous for their legendary performances in World Cups.

Great World Cup Finals

We have experienced many truly great finals over the last ninety or so years. Who can forget the England versus Germany final in 1966 with Geoff Hurst scoring extra time? However, people still talk about the validity of that goal. In 2014, we also witnessed the incredible goal scored by Mario Gotze for Germany to beat Argentina in extra time. We’ve had the Hand of God, and that wonder strike by Diego Maradona against England in 1986, Zidane’s destruction of Brazil in 1998 and so many fond memories. 

Different Groups of FIFA World Cup

Presently, 13 teams have qualified for the FIFA World Cup — Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, and host country, Qatar. There are still 19 spots left, with some teams playing play-offs in their different continents. The teams' placings in each group will be decided at the time of the final draw in April 2022. Group matches start from the 21st of November 2022.

Group Matches.

On the 21st of November 2022, Qatar (A1) will open the tournament playing against the A2 team, and the A3 team will play against A4. On the 25th of November, 2022, Qatar (A1) plays against A3, and A2 plays against A4. The 29th of November, 2022, will see Qatar (A1) play against A4, and A2 play against A4. All the group matches will be played in the same way.

Group B matches will be played on the same date as group A. On 22, 26, and 30 November, Group C matches will be played. Group D matches are on the same date as group C. However, Group E and F will play their matches on 23, the 27th of November, and the 1st of December. The G and H group will play their matches on 24, the 28th of November, and the 2nd of December.

Who Will Win the World Cup?

Betting on World Cup group odds can be risky. The best bet on World Cup group odds is betting on a favourite country getting out of the group regardless of whether they come in first or second place. World Cup group winner odds will be very short, of course, due to reduced risk. They are not, however, risk-free, and upsets are frequent.

After the group stages, all the games become knock-out and a two-horse race. The betting on these games compared to the World Cup group odds becomes more uniform and straightforward. As the competition progresses, form begins to show, and the odds on games become more realistic. One thing we all know is that there is no such thing as a sure thing at the World Cup. No doubt, players like Messi and Kane will make us jump off our seats in excitement. Some players will return home heroes. Some countries won't want to return home at all. But one thing is certain, only one country can lift the cup on the 18th of December. Which one will it be?


Casumo is officially licensed by the Malta Gaming Authority. Working closely with local authorities and organisations, our aim is to create a safer environment for our players, ensuring their well-being as well as a more responsible gaming conduct within the industry. Casumo Services Limited is a company registered in Malta with registration number C55663 and with registered address at 'The Unicorn Centre, Triq il-Uqija, Swieqi, SWQ 2335, Malta'. If you are based in Ireland and playing casino, the services are offered under licence number MGA/CRP/217/2012 issued by the Malta Gaming Authority. If you are based in Ireland and playing on our sportsbook, the services are offered under Licence number 1015523 issued by the Irish Revenue Commissioners. Contact us on Gambling can be addictive. Please play responsibly. If you need support in relation to your gambling habits you find more information at Read more about Play Okay.